Search

Rue des Chandiots Clermont Ferrand (France)

General presentation

Contexte & enjeux

The proposed project develops a dense urban form to free up a maximum of garden in the heart of the site. The built structures are contextualized to meet the height templates of neighboring buildings. The site plan provides a wide landscaped pedestrian pathway between the collective buildings.

The templates and built-up morphologies proposed were designed so as not to reproduce the style of the high-rise buildings to the North and East of the site: to avoid the monolithic “building wall”, the architecture focuses on sequencing the structures built to break the linearity.

Emergences in R +5 mark the concept of “inhabited canopy”. The roofs are utilized and inhabited; there are “eagle’s nest”-style duplex apartments, green roofs, double-height loggias, rooftop terrace-gardens …

Technical descriptive

Program

Construction of collective and intermediate housing on the site of the former Clinique des Chandiots.

132 dwellings, including 106 with access to ownership and 26 social housing units.

Client

BPD Marignan

Area

8 500 m²

Rechercher

Rue des Chandiots Clermont Ferrand (France)

Présentation générale

Contexte & enjeux

Le projet proposé développe une forme urbaine dense pour libérer un maximum de jardin en cœur d’ilot. Les masses bâties sont contextualisées pour répondre aux gabarits de hauteur des constructions voisines. Le plan masse ménage une large césure paysagère entre les bâtiments collectifs, le cheminement piéton ainsi créé permet la traversée piétonne de l’îlot.

Les gabarits et les morphologies bâties proposées ont été conçues de manière à ne pas reproduire l’écriture des barres de logements au Nord et à l’Est du site : pour éviter le « bâtiment muraille » monolithique, l’architecture s’attache à séquencer les masses bâties pour en briser la linéarité.

Des émergences en R+5 marquent le concept de « canopée habitée ». Les toitures sont investies et habitées, on y trouve des appartements duplex « en nid d’aigle », des toitures végétalisées, des loggias en double hauteur, des terrasses-jardin en rooftop…

Descriptif technique

Programme

Construction de logements collectifs et intermédiaires sur le site de l’ancienne clinique des Chandiots

139 logements dont 106 en accession et 26 logements sociaux

Maître d'ouvrage

BPD Marignan

Surface

8 500 m²